In the following texts, the organizational and scholarly history of the Archaeological Society is presented in ten chronological periods that correspond to the Secretariats of its General Secretaries. The presentation begins with the period of Alexandros Rizos Rangavis (1837-1851) and ends with the period of Georgios Emm. Mylonas (1979-1986).

The texts stem from Vasileios Ch. Petrakos publication, The Archaeological Society of Athens. The history of its 150 years, from 1837 to 1989, BAE 104 (Athens 1987) (in greek), pp. 23-186.